Managing Shell Users

What are Shell Users?

Shell users are used for SSH and SFTP access to your files.

They also run the processes your various web applications, which helps to isolate your applications from each other.

Adding a Shell User

1

Click on Shell Users in the control panel sidebar.

2

Click the button labeled "+ Add User" in the upper-left corner of the content area.

3

Enter the desired username for your new shell user in the Name field.

4

Use the Server dropdown list to select the server for your new shell user.

5

Click the Save button to save your new shell user.

6

A notice will appear on the screen to let you know the new shell user's initial random password. Make a note of the password. If you missed the notice, you can access it via the Notices icon (a bell) near the top-right corner of the panel.

7

A second notification will appear after approximately 1-2 minutes to let you know that the new shell user is ready to use.

Note that shell users must be unique on each server - that is, two shell users with the same name cannot exist on the same server.

If, after saving your shell user, you see the error message "This username is already in use on the server", then go back to step 3 and use a different name.

Changing a Shell User's Password

1

Click on Shell Users in the control panel sidebar.

2

Click the checkbox next the user (or users) for which you want to change the password. Two buttons will appear above the user list.

3

Click the "Change Server Passwords" button.

4

Enter your new password in the field labeled "Password".

Passwords must meet the following requirements:

  • Must contain at least 1 of each of the following:
    • 1 lowercase letter A-Z
    • 1 uppercase letter a-z
    • 1 numeral 0-9
    • 1 special character
  • Must be a minimum of 8 and a maximum of 254 characters in length.
5

Enter your new password again in the field labeled "Confirm".

When you've entered identical valid passwords in both fields, the field borders will turn green and a "Change Passwords" button will appear.

6

Click the "Change Passwords" button to save your new password. The password will be applied to all of the shell users that were selected in step 2 above.

You can also change a shell user's password by executing the passwd command while logged in to a SSH session as that user.

Deleting Shell Users

1

Click on Shell Users in the control panel sidebar.

2

Click the checkbox next to the user (or users) that you want to delete. Two buttons will appear above the user list.

3

Click the "Delete Selected" button.

4

Type "I confirm" in the confirmation dialog.

After you have typed the confirmation phrase, the field border will turn green and a "Delete" button will appear.

5

Click the "Delete" button to queue the selected users for deletion. The users will be permanently deleted in 24 hours.

Once you have queued shell users for deletion, two new icons will appear for those users in the user list:

These icons can be used to undo or accelerate the deletion process:

  1. The Recover icon: click to remove your user from the deletion queue.
  2. The Delete Now icon: click to delete the user immediately.